Spread the love


BY Uredo Omale Head , Public relations and protocol.

The Student Union Government of Kogi State Polytechnic, Lokoja, for the 2020/2021 academic session has been inaugurated.

Speaking at the inauguration, the Rector of the institution, Dr Salisu O. Usman, charged the new SUG leadership to be transparent, law abiding and display exemplary moral and academic standings in all their conduct.

He commended the electoral committee led by Mr. Pedro Akande who is the Dean, School of Art, Design and Printing for the diligent job reflected in the conduct of the election.

He further stressed that the free and transparent conduct of the election was a clear manifestation of the management’s desire to allow students determine who take charge of their affairs.

He stressed that the transparent process of the election was to give platform for self-determination and restore self-worth among students.

He assured that the Polytechnic under his watch would continue to strive to promote inclusiveness, welfare and academic excellence of the students.

Dr Usman advised the new executives to take leadership as their responsibility and urged them to serve with dignity, in addition to making good use of their time both in academics and in serving the students.

While urging the students to always be on the side of the law and shun any act of hooliganism, cultism and other vices, the Rector reiterated the management’s commitment to always do what is right, fair and equitable.

The Chairman of the Electoral Committee, Mr Pedro Akande, in his remark, said the election was conducted freely and fairly to the admiration of all contestants, adding that the process has become a reference for other tertiary institutions in the state and beyond.

The Deputy Rector, Dr Kehinde Lamidi, the Director of Students Services, Engr Salawu Ijiji and the Head of Legal Unit, Barrister Williams Ameh in their separate remarks praised the Rector for providing the enabling platform that brought about the seamless transition of students union leadership.

They also advised the new SUG executives to see themselves as representatives of the entire students and not their lords.

In his address, the new SUG President, Comrade Olusegun Toluwase Opeyemi, thanked the management and the entire students of Kogi State Polytechnic for the privilege given and the trust reposed in his team to serve the institution.

He disclosed that his team was ready to harness the unity, strength and intellectual prowess of the students to chart a progressive course for the Union.

Comrade Opeyemi who said the focus of his campaign was integrity and transparency, noted that they would remain the guiding principles of his administration which would focus on establishing an SUG where all elected executives, the legislative and judicial arms would work together to provide for the welfare of the generality of the students.

The new SUG executives took the oath of office as administered by the Head of Legal Unit, Barrister Williams Ameh, preceded by presentation of certificates of return by the Rector.

The newly sworn in members of the 2020/2021 Student Union Executive are as follows:

Olusegun Toluwase Opeyemi – President.

Enape Sunday – Vice President.

Usman Abdullahi – Vice President II.

Ibrahim Yakubu Ojo – General Secretary.

Hamza Ahmed – Assistant Secretary.

Oluwatuyi Segun Dele – Financial Secretary.

Yahaya Danjuma Muhammed – Welfare Director.

Zubair Abdulrahman Adaoyiza – PRO I.

Salau Tosin John – PRO II.

Oloruntoba Tope – Director of Sports (Male)

Davidson Deborah Oyiza – Director of Sports (Female)

Ishaka Zuweratu – Director of Sports II (Female)

Olorunkemi Olaosebikan – Director of Socia II.

Ademu Anes Muhammed – Director of Social (Male)

Olololo Faith – Director of Social (Female).

Abdulazeez Zainab Obomi – Director of Social II (Female)

Momoh Jimoh Yakubu – Auditor I.

Obasoro Emmanuel Kolawole – Auditor II.

Muhammed Besiru Omachi – Director of Sports II (Male).

Olorunkemi Sarafadeen Olaosebikan – Director of Social II (Male).

Omale Samuel Urah – Treasurer.

Hassan Faruk – Speaker.

Bello Blessing – Deputy Speaker.

Mohammed Ramatu – Deputy Clerk.

Abubakar Ibrahim – Chief Whip.

Tanimola Juwon Olorunyomi – Sergeant At Arm.

Anyoku Onyedikachi Stevenson – Non Indegene Representative.

Ahmed Besiru – Chief Judge.

Emmanuel Christian Agbo – Bailiff

The inauguration was held at the 500-seat lecture Theatre, Main Campus, on Monday 21st June, 2021, and was attended by the Rector, other Principal Officers, Deans, Directors, staff and students of the institution.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *