Parralel Congress Rocks Niger APC. , as Hon Haliru Zakari Jikantoro wins Chairmanship .

Spread the love

Parralel Congress Rocks APC.

* Hon Haliru Zakari Jikantoro wins All Progressives Congress APC Chairmanship in Niger State.

Yahaya Zakka Minna

Hon. Haliru Jikantoro emerged as the consensus chairman during the All Progressive Congress APC state congress held at the Justice Idris Legbo Kutigi International Conference Centre, Minna.

Some of the contestants were returned elected through a consensus agreement reached by them for the 36 positions available in the party except the aggrieved contestants who conducted a parallel Congress in Bay clinic area in Minna the state capital.

Governor Abubakar Sani Bello speaking at the Congress mentioned that the consensus adopted by APC in the state from the ward, local government to state levels was aimed at uniting members of the partly.

Abubakar Sank Bello urged the elected officials of the party to carry everybody along as machinery to reconcile the aggrieved persons will be put in place.

“I know some will feel aggrieved but we have in place reconciliation machinery that will kick-off immediately,” he added.

He then called on those who sacrificed for the consensus to agree to remain faithful to the party as one day they will benefit from the sacrifice they have made.

The Governor stated that the new party officials must get it right as the election year was fast approaching so that they will win the election at all levels in 2023.

The Chairman, National Congress Committee, Alhaji Ahmed Suleiman Wambai, who conducted the congress, said that this was the only legitimate Congress taking place in Niger State, that anyone outside this was an exercise in futility.

Suleiman Wambai commended the Niger State APC and the Local Organizing Committee (LOC) for making their work easy by adopting consensus to elect the new officials of the party.

He stated that the constitution of the party allows for three processes for electing its officials which are affirmation, election, and consensus.

The chairman then called out the names of the newly elected officials and was confirmed by the delegates from the 25 local governments of the state with a voice vote.

Earlier, the LOC chairman, Ambassador Ahmed Musa Ibeto appreciated those who stepped down for the consensus to be reached.

Ibeto assured those who made the sacrifice that they will be compensated by the party, as he thanked his members and those who made it a success.

Some of the officials are Barr. Ibrahim Aliyu Khaleel as secretary, Suleiman Abdullahi as Youth Leader, Lantana Abdullahi as the woman leader, Isah Umar Aliyu as a physically challenged leader amongst others, they are expected to serve for four years.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *